Up-to-the-Minute Black & Gold News RSS Feed - SportsNOLA.com

New Orleans Saints Coverage at SportsNOLA.com

Saints Home • Saints HeadlinesNFL News

Video: Sammy Knight, Bruce Miller chosen for Saints Hall of Fame Class of 2011

Sammy Knight was a ball-hawking safety for the New Orleans Saints.Sammy Knight was a ball-hawking safety for the New Orleans Saints.METAIRIE - Former New Orleans Saints safety Sammy Knight has been elected to the Saints Hall of Fame while former long-time media member Bruce Miller has been chosen as the recipient of the Joe Gemelli Fleur De Lis Award for 2011. Both will be inducted at a ceremony this fall.

Knight, who played six seasons for the Saints from 1997-2002, was part of the first New Orleans Saints team in franchise history to win a playoff game in the 2000 season under Jim Haslett.

Signed as a free agent out of USC in 1997, Knight led the Saints in interceptions in five of his six seasons with the Saints and he remains the all-time leader in interception returns for touchdowns in franchise history with four.

Knight is third all-time in New Orleans Saints history in interceptions with 28. He recorded 100 or more tackles in three of six seasons with the Saints. Knight was chosen as a Pro Bowl starter in 2001.

Knight was durable with the Saints, starting all 16 games for four consecutive years from 1999-2002. He had nine fumble recoveries and forced five fumbles in his New Orleans Saints career.

Knight had three interceptions in the season opener at Buffalo on September 9, 2001.

Miller, who worked in sports media for 50 years, came to New Orleans in December of 1957 and never left the Crescent City other than serving three months in Lake Charles in 1974, worked at WDSU Television (1961-1973), WDSU Radio (1957-1961), WGSO Radio (1974-1980) and at WWL Radio (1980-2000).

While at WWL, Miller covered the New Orleans Saints for over two decades, hosting the team’s radio pre-game and halftime radio shows, hosting a show with Offensive Coordinator King Hill, conducting post-game interviews with Jim Mora and filling in twice to do play-by-play and color on the Saints Radio Network.

Miller served as the play-by-play voice of Tulane University from 1959-1975 and later worked two more years with Green Wave broadcasts. Miller was inducted into the Tulane Athletics Hall of Fame in 2007.


SAFETY SAMMY KNIGHT  (1997-2002, 6 seasons)

**Led Saints in interceptions in five of six seasons in New Orleans (’97, ’98, ’00, ’01, ’02)

**Had 6 interceptions in 1998 and 2001—3rd in NFL in interception return yards with 171 in 1998

**All-time leader in interception returns for touchdowns with 4

**Had 3 interceptions at Buffalo on 9/9/01 (season opener)

**Recovered team-high 5 fumbles, team high 6 interceptions in 2001

**3rd all-time in interceptions with 28 for 464 yards and 4 touchdowns, had 22 pass deflections

**Had over 100 tackles in there of six seasons (1999—102, 2000—100, 2002—107)

**Was a starter in the 2001 Pro Bowl

**Had 9 fumble recoveries with one returned for touchdown, 5 forced fumbles with Saints

**Started all 16 games for four consecutive years (1999-2002)

**Had 91 interception return for touchdown against Minnesota in 1998

**Played in 94 games, starting 89, finished with 440 tackles

**Helped lead Saints to division title and first-ever playoff win over Rams in 2000 


1988—Archie Manning and Danny Abramowicz

1989—Tommy Myers and Tom Dempsey

1990—Billy Kilmer

1991—Tony Galbreath and Derland Moore

1992—George Rogers, Jake Kupp and John Hill

1993—Joe Federspiel

1994—Henry Childs and Jim Finks

1995—Doug Atkins and Bob Pollard

1996—Dave Whitsell and Dave Waymer

1997—Stan Brock and Rickey Jackson

1998—Dalton Hilliard and Sam Mills

1999—Bobby Hebert and Eric Martin

2000—Pat Swilling and Vaughan Johnson

2001—Jim Wilks and Hoby Brenner

2002—Jim Mora and Frank Warren

2003—Jim Dombrowski and Wayne Martin

2004—Rueben Mayes and Steve Sidwell

**2005—No induction due to Hurricane Katrina

2006—Joel Hilgenberg

2007—Joe Johnson

2008—William Roaf

2009—Morten Andersen

2010—Joe Horn



1989—Al Hirt

1990—Joe Gemelli (award later named for him)

1991—Dave Dixon

1992—Charlie Kertz

1993—Wayne Mack

1994—Erby Aucoin

1995—Aaron Broussard

1996—Marie Knutson

1997—Angela Hill

1998—Joe Impastato

1999—Frank Wilson

2000—Bob Remy

2001—Peter “Champ”  Clark

2002—Dean Kleinschmidt

2003—Jim Fast

2004—Bob Roesler

2005—NO INDUCTEES due to Hurricane Katrina

2006—Buddy Diliberto

2007—New Orleans Saints Fans (Marcy Beter)

2008—Barra Birrcher

2009—Jerry Romig

2010—Dan Simmons and Glennon “Silky” Powell

Saints Team Information

2013 New Orleans Saints Schedule